Blogs > Red Wings Corner

Up-to-the minute updates and insights from the Red Wings locker room at home and on the road. By Chuck Pleiness of The Macomb Daily.

Friday, April 25, 2008

Datsyuk and Zetterberg Selke finalists

Now here's some great news ... both Pavel Datsyuk and Henrik Zetterberg are finalists for the Selke Trophy along with New Jersey's John Madden.
Both Datsyuk and Zetterberg have been prime-time defensive forwards for the past two seasons (at least). This is the first time as a finalist for both.
Madden won the award in 2001 and was a runner-up twice (2003 and 2004).
If you're curious, my vote had Datsyuk at one, Madden at two and Zetterberg at three when I voted at season's end as a member of the hockey writers' association. I also had Datsyuk and Zetterberg among my five Selke votes last season.


Anonymous Mike Canada said...

Hey Bruce. I was just wondering how many members there are in the hockey writers' association? What qualifies a journalist for membership? Thanks!

April 25, 2008 at 4:01 PM 
Anonymous baroque said...

I'm curious as to how the voting works.

Do you get to vote for whatever players you want, or are you given a list of a dozen or so for each award to choose from? And do you vote by ranking all of them, or just the top three or more, or what?

And all Red Wings fans appreciate your work here (whether or not we comment much). :)

April 26, 2008 at 3:20 PM 
Blogger Bruce MacLeod said...

I'm not certain how many members there are in the PHWA. It's a organization of writers who cover the NHL. Dues are something like $25 per year. The main thing about the organization is that it's a unified voice for writers for things like ensuring teams give access to players and that arenas have proper writing conditions.
As for the awards, there are a limited number of voting slots. In some cities like Toronto and Montreal that have oodles of members, everyone doesn't get a vote.
Voters are given no list, no finalists ... just the award description and how many players to vote on for each award. The votes have to be submitted by 7 p.m. of the first night of playoff games.

April 29, 2008 at 11:07 AM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home